beagle with Brussels sprouts vibrations

Working at home today.  I have two major work tasks to accomplish, or at least make serious dents in, as there are deadlines at hand.  I intersperse loads of laundry with bouts of researching and writing.  No worry, I believe I have it all well in hand by the time lunch break roles around.

I have a roasted Brussels sprouts recipe stuck in the centre of my hankering place.  When I ran the morning errands, I stopped by the grocery store and picked up some of these mighty wee cabbage-like things.  It is time.  If you are deficit in Brussels sprouts information, head over here for all the goodness.

delicious, nutritious, irresistable

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Ingredients

  • 1lb Brussels sprouts, trimmed and quartered

    brussels sprouts

  • 2tbsp olive oil
  • 1tbsp balsamic vinegar (like champagne, you get what you pay for)
  • 1 ½ tbsp freshly grated parmesan
  • 1 tbsp roasted pine nuts

Method

Preheat oven to 450 F.  Place cut Brussels sprouts in bowl and toss with oil and balsamic vinegar.

On a lightly oiled or sprayed pan, arrange sprouts in a single layer and place in oven for 20 minutes, tossing occasionally, until golden and crispy along the edges.

Before sprouts are finished roasting, place pine nuts in a dry pan over medium heat and roast for approximately 5 minutes.  Exercise care as they can go from nicely browned to burnt quickly.

lunch at home

Place roasted sprouts in a bowl and toss with parmesan.  Sprinkle with pine nuts and serve hot.  I placed some on a plate with a little local lamb chop and took quiet time to enjoy.

While the Brussels sprouts were roasting, I took time to make a batch of hummus.  The chickpeas, already soaked overnight and simmered to a delightful tenderness, were waiting their moment to shine. With pine nuts on hand and cilantro bravely sitting just on this side of freshness, the flavour and garnish was an easy decision.  So, taking a basic hummus recipe, adjusting the spices and adding my current and most pressing desires, a delectable hummus was created.

pine nut cilantro hummus

Today’s food adventures were all the more savoury and satisfying with the soul satisfying sounds of jai uttal‘s kirtans.  I was so excited when I opened my post office box this morning to discover an envelope from most giving of blog friends, Diane.    I had not before heard kirtans and was struck by their beauty, their soothing repetitiveness, their soul-haunting melody lines.

Mindful cooking, mindful eating, beautiful day.  Blessed.