saying-goodbye-quotes-deep-meaning-picturei found out yesterday that next week will be my last week of work (classes) at Atlantic Fitness East. at the beginning of December, i handed in my notice for March 1st, knowing the owner would take care of replacing me long before that date.

and so it is.

i am so grateful for so much from this time in my life. when i moved to the island, arriving labour day weekend of 2003, i thought i would be traveling to charlottetown to look for work …. ummm, after we were settled in the house and the girls were settled into school and udo was settled into work and life dissolved into some sort of crazy busy routine. but lo and behold, there was a full gym just down the road from our home. and it became an important part of our lives, in so many ways.

i started as a member at this gym down the road, getting in some long juicy workouts and slowly becoming a regular around the place. i moved from member, to floor trainer and eventually combined that with private personal training, staffing the desk and teaching classes. i have traveled a lot of miles on the floors of that space and learned the names, goals, and vulnerabilities of countless folks. every person gave me something important.

hearthandi cannot possibly name everyone who has a place in my heart over these years, but there are a few i must mention by name:

Carol Wilbert, the day manager for Atlantic Fitness East when i arrived here, was persuasive in talking me into my first position — a part time gig as a floor trainer. there were no certified personal trainers on site and the facility was sorely in need of a floor trainer to work with members. i am very grateful to all the kindnesses Carol extended to me during the years that our time there overlapped. she had a good grasp of what needed to be in place to provide a well-rounded service to members; she had a solid and consistent personal workout schedule,  and she was a consistent smile and upfront personality to work with.

Donna Harris, who i now count as a friend, was the first to hand over the health and fitness of  her body to me and to engage with me in personal private training. she was excited and trusting and motivated. it was so fun to train her and she opened the doors for others to make such a commitment to their own health and workouts. i am grateful for the dedication Donna shows to herself and the unwavering support she gave me as a trainer and gives me as a friend.

Mandy Li, through Donna’s urging, became my second  private client. Mandy used me to create big, meaningful and lasting changes in her life. Mandy is such a generous person and by training with me gave me so much. she is light-hearted and earnest and i am grateful for her generous spirit and ongoing friendship.

63302_10151712596044757_1689552538_nand then there was the avalanche of personal training clients and post-rehab pool clients through Workers’ Compensation and Motor Vehicle Insurance. there were sometimes months on end when my daily shift was chock full of folks taking on new knowledge of how to live healthier, workout in safer and more effective ways, and to place trust and love into sometimes horribly broken body parts and psyches. people of all ages, with a diversity of health needs and fitness goals; they were all people put into my life to teach me. thank you to each and every one of you, i hope you have some lessons learned and remembered from these times too.

in addition to personal training, i began doing some administrative and desk shifts when Carol went on a maternity leave. towards the end of her leave, ownership of the gym changed hands and desk staff positions began rolling over like kitties for belly rubs. along the way, i shared in a steady desk staffing position with Susan English, Jen MacLean Mulally, Donna Harris, and Art Griffin. these were folks who made it easy to come onto shift behind them, having done their jobs well and thoroughly. they all taught me much about sincerity and integrity in a challenging workplace. they were all so loved by members, and for good reason.

pool staff (who frequently morphed into other responsibilities) with whom i shared time there: Adam Ross, Simone VanIderstine, Shanahan Gardiner, Alysia Angus Lunt, James Sullivan, Brett Hancock, Michelle Sullivan, Rebeccah Hume, David White, and so many others for whom i have lost last names. swim instructors and life guards who were young, enthusiastic and hungry to apply what they had learned and so refreshing to observe.

agilityat some point along the way, i added a group class schedule to my other duties at Atlantic Fitness East. there has been a variety of classes and a huge smileful of class participants: power & grace, mostly abs, yoga break, kettlebell, seniors, jazzercise, yoga, kickboxing, mash up ….  i have loved the energy of the groups and have thrived on creating class formats and programs which are safe, fun, challenging and balanced. i am so very thankful for everyone who has allowed me to practice on them. a few of the class participants have gone on to become instructors themselves: Susan, Danny, Zelda and Lola  have all obtained recognized certifications in Kettlebell Coaching and Kim Beck, a floor client from way back, has become a personal trainer; i was humbled by her description of my role in her journey and to assist her in meeting the standards of her practical testing.1hlc 040

the current gym owner, Meaghan Lister, has often allowed me to direct my work at Atlantic Fitness East, to bring new ideas into the facility based on my ongoing professional development and to just leave me with responsibility – autonomy – in my work. i have gained much in my relationship with her.

and, i should note that it is no small thing that two of my daughters had their first official work in this facility, both serving as customer service reps on the desk. it has served them well in life to have this experience.

squatwhile there is much i have gained at Atlantic Fitness East, there are so many i will miss. for the past 5 years i have only taught classes and i have wild and passionate attachments to the fine people in these classes. to the kettlebellers –some of you who picked up your first kettlebell on january 28th, 2008, under my cohersion — so many of you over the years who have loved or loved to hate the iron, oh my gosh how do i say thank you? you have been strong and funny, graceful and oafish, determined, sweating and smiling, screaming …. and you’ve introduced me to a number of new invectives.  you have given me more than i have ever had to offer you and you hold a special place in my heart. thank you, thank you. and,  to the (mostly) women in the Seniors Fitness Class: thank you for your wisdom and kindnesses, your story telling and distracted socializing, for putting up with my memory challenges and listening to my life stories. thank you for understanding, deeply, how important your physical health is to your fulfilled living and for being (mostly) consistent in your exercise commitment. you are a very difficult group to leave. truly.

you all know who you are.

and so it is.

next week. and then a different week after that one.

cbyphotothis nexus allows me to attend more fully to my work at the whole way health & fitness studio. i will be rounding out the services there, offering more yoga, including Clubbell Yoga, and finding a way to incorporate Primal 12 programming into the schedule. i am really excited about this.

and, montague, you are really not rid of me. today i picked up a key for the space in which Lainey`s Taekwondo is practiced and grows. starting next week, january 11th, i will run a 6 week Introductory Clubbell Yoga Series in this great space. there is still time to get in on it!

2015, my heart is open, get into me. bring joys and sorrows and the path i do not yet know.

and so it will be.

Whatever-is-happening

