jaz krautwurst, rhn

i’m really pleased to present today’s guest post, the first of many i hope, by jaz krautwurst. jaz is a registered holistic nutritional consultant living in halifax, nova scotia. she has a passion and talent for living with ease, prefers dancing to walking and walking to wheels, and does  a darned fine job of  practicing nonattachment. a lover of food, drink, people as party companions, acrobatics, fire, and coffee, she is mistress to living with love and compassion. sometimes she yells at her roommate. 

(note: i am privileged to have birthed jaz and am grateful for all the ways she has danced my life)

When you hear the word ‘cleanse,’ what does it make you think of? I think it’s pretty easy for people to perceive a cleanse as intense and restrictive, something unpleasant ‘healthy’ people do in the name of being ‘healthy.’ Literally, the word cleanse means, ‘Rid (a person, place, or thing) of something seen as unpleasant, unwanted, or defiling,’ and that is the purpose of a cleanse: to facilitate the body’s natural detoxification processes through diet, exercise and often the use of herbs or vitamin/mineral supplements. It is a process unique to each individual — there is no single ‘correct’ cleanse or cleansing diet that is right for everyone. It is dependant on the individual’s goals as well as their everyday lifestyle.

For myself, a cleanse is a way to tune up my habits. Knowing what is right and applying it can be two different things and I, personally, am easily swayed by temptation. The treats aren’t treats if you have them every day and a party isn’t a party if it happens every night!

A cleanse is an opportunity for me to make lasting change in my lifestyle and instill new, positive habits (and remember my old, positive habits)… it’s a gratifying feeling!

A cleanse is a way for me to get in tune with my body. It is a time for me to know myself further, treat myself gently and remind myself what a gift I (and all of us humans!)  have been given: a beautiful, resilient, capable body that contains incomprehensible wisdom inside of it. We carry within ourselves not just the potential to be well but the ability to achieve it. A cleanse allows me to see this very real ability in action.

A cleanse during the season’s change prepares me for the shifts of nature. The temperature, weather, amount of daylight, even the quality of the air and direction the wind comes from all change. Simple food, simply prepared, coming from this corner of the world (as much as I am able) prepares me, body and spirit, for the shorter days and cooler temperatures upon us. I am aware of the shift from watery fruits and vegetables to root veggies as much as I’m aware that it now gets dark at 5:30 in the evening. Squashes, sweet potatoes and other foods of the season warm me up from the inside out. A cleanse attunes me to the planet.

With these things in mind it is with great pleasure and a healthy sense of challenge that I begin my own 21 day cleanse. Today is day two! During this time I am saying goodbye to my non-food of choice: coffee. So far I don’t miss it but talk to me tomorrow afternoon after I’ve finished serving brunch to a hundred people at work! Herbal teas, pure water and scalp massages are among my methods of handling the cravings. I give myself a personal bonus if I can get someone else to deliver the scalp massage!

Have you ever done a cleanse before? What do you do to diffuse a craving for something you want to avoid?

