I stopped by Balderston’s Farm Market on my way home from work today. My mission was to get my first scoop of wild blueberry ice cream on this lovely blistering hot day. If you aren’t already in the know, wild blueberry ice cream might just be next to nirvana.

Well, I successfully bypassed the scoop (for today) but was totally entranced by the heavy sweet scent of fresh island strawberries. It wasn’t possible to be in the farm stand and resist. So, along with some lovely plums, I picked up a generous quart of berries.

Fresh berries and, and, and? Well, I could only think cardamom and earl grey tea.

Wicker Lane Berries In Tea

Ingredients

  • 1 generous cup of local fresh strawberries
  • 1 tartish apple, cored and sliced
  • 6 – 8oz cream of earl grey tea (DavidsTea) – I brewed a double serving: 2.5 tsp in 6 – 8 oz boiled water, cooled
  • generous shake of ground cardamom (used freshly ground green cardamom seeds if you have the pods and a mortal and pestle)
  • zest of one orange

Method

In an oven preheated to 350 degrees, place all ingredients in a dish and bake for 15 minutes, or until the apple pleasantly softens.

Serve in a lovely dish, add ice cream if so inclined, sprinkle with a bit of brown sugar (or add 2tsp before cooking if you think this is needed; it isn’t).

Enjoy on the back deck with a spritzer or in the outdoor hot tub with champagne under a spectacular moon on a summer evening so warm and sultry you want to be naked (if you aren’t already — umm, I am).

 

