On the weekend passed, I attended a program on Contentment In Everyday Life at Dorje Denma Ling.  The opportunity to explore and deepen my sitting practice was appreciated and the richness of experience shared by other program participants was an important part of the weekend.  The program instructors were wise and helpful and humourous. It was good.

doing dishes at ddl

The kitchen at DDL fascinates me and I find myself drawn to rota duties which allow me to prep meals or do dishes. I most prefer the meal preparation and appreciate how I can be of service by washing, peeling, dicing, slicing, wiping, storing, fetching, rinsing. Mindfully. Appreciative of the small human symphony conducted sweetly by Lucy, the kitchen manager, and which produces delicious, nutritious, colourful, bountiful, earth-inspired compassion-filled meals. What a truly authentic and meaningful way to practice.

So, while I sat on my cushion, munched on sour chickpeas and chocolates, performed contemplations, and explored experiences of gentleness, nowness and inquisitiveness, Udo provided a lovely stand-in at home in the sunday soup department.  When I walked into the house late Sunday evening, he was dishing up single serving portions of Split Pea Soup. Love.

Split Pea Soup

Ingredients

  • 2c split peas, rinsed
  • smoked pork hock (the smokey flavour is important, so if you are vegetarian substitute in some liquid smoke or…simply enjoy the soup with a glass of Bowmore)
  • 1/2c onions, chopped
  • 1c celery, chopped
  • 1/2 carrots, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1tsp sugar
  • dash cayenne
  • 1/4tsp thyme
  • 2tbsp ghee
  • 2tbsp flour

Method

In a large pot of water (about 10c) cook split peas and pork hock for 2 1/2 to 3 hours, until tender.

Add onion, celery and carrots, simmer an additional half hour.

Add to pot garlic, bay leaf, sugar, cayenne and thyme (and liquid smoke if substituting).

Chill soup and remove fat.

Melt butter in a small sauce pan and stir in flour until well blended.  Slowly add a small amount of the soup to the mixture. Cook and stir until it comes to a boil and then add it to the rest of the soup, stirring until incorporated.

This is another wonderful winter soup and I’d have to add that this is an exceptionally delicious batch he has wrought.

along the road to ddl

