Interested in barefoot running?

Jason Robillard’s wise words in The Barefoot Running Book were the first I read on the topic. His information is straightforward and full of common sense. He provides progressions to take you from whatever point you are right now to being a successful and healthier barefoot runner.  I wrote about my use of his book and ideas in a blog post in early May of last year – check it out for an applied review of his techniques.

Now Barefoot Jason  has a second, expanded edition, of The Barefoot Running Book available. You can purchase the book of get it as a PDF download!  I think this is simply brilliant.

I’ve learned a lot about barefoot running from Jason, but the most important aspect for me has been a return to, or a finding of, joy and mindfulness in my running and in my barefootedness. These qualities have thankfully bubbled over into living more of my life barefoot and sharpening my awareness of why I do so.

I highly recommend The Barefoot Running Book as a great read. Even if you are skeptical of barefoot running, you might find something quite lovely.

But tomorrow, dawn will come the way I picture her,

barefoot and disheveled, standing outside my window

in one of the fragile cotton dresses of the poor.

She will look in at me with her thin arms extended,

offering a handful of birdsong and a small cup of light.

~ William Collins

