It is a gorgeous day in Prince Edward Island today.  Sunny, warm and alive with the sounds of people enjoying an unusual late October day.

I don’t regret working today.  The sun is streaming through the studio windows, which are all thrown open, and I can imagine myself on a patio.

I’m enjoying a bowl of soup from the batch I made last weekend.  Fall vegetables seem a bit out of place today, but they still warm my soul and add to the general euphoria of the day.

Coconut Pumpkin Soup

Ingredients

  • 2 chopped carrots
  • 1 chopped red bell pepper
  • 1 chopped onion
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • about 15oz mashed pumpkin
  • 14oz coconut milk
  • 2c vegan stock
  • 1 finely chopped chili pepper
  • 3/4 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp ginger
  • 1 tbsp fresh cilantro
Method
Cook carrots, bell pepper and onion in coconut oil until nearly tender.
Mix pumpkin, coconut milk and stock in a bowl. Stir in chili pepper, salt and ginger.
Add pumpkin mixture to carrot mixture and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat and simmer, uncovered, for about 10 minutes.

Top with cilantro upon serving.

