avocado chocolate pudding

Well, I had a wee bit of time to be in the kitchen today and decided to try two variations of avocado chocolate pudding.

Before I share, I’m going to let you in on a pet peeve of mine.  Why eat a ‘fake’ or ‘substitute’ something or another if you don’t want or can’t have the real deal?

You know.  If you are vegetarian, why do you want a veggie ‘burger’ or tofurkey?  Why not create meals which are not imitations of what it is you don’t want to eat?  How about oatless oatmeal, vegan sausages, dairyless cheese?

I just don’t get it.  Do I want a smokeless cigarette, alcohol free wine, sex without orgasm?

Really.

Create your gluten-free, sugar-free, grain-free, meat-free, dairy-free, whatever-free palate pleasers as wonderful in their own right. Give them a loud and proud identity instead of shrouding them in the disrespect of wannabesomethingelse.  Let them stand on their own as yummy primary foods not as secondary stand-ins for the forsaken wiener or the much maligned egg.

Lately I have come across an overabundance of recipes for chocolate pudding made with avocado.  I am wondering if the avocado is suppose to be a superior substitute for some other ingredient(s).  If you know, will you please enlighten me in the comments section? Thanks.

Otherwise, to those trying to have their cake and not eat it too, I say Get Over It and Get On With It!

Thank you for indulging me in today’s insignificant rant.

First I made a very simple recipe.

Chocolate Avocado Pudding with Banana

Ingredients

  • 1 banana
  • 1 avocado
  • 1 tbsp unsweetened cacao powder (I used Camino fair trade Cocoa Powder)

Method

Blend everything together with an immersion blender or whatever magic mixing machine you have on hand.

Chill and serve as a pudding or as a fruit dip.

Then I made a slightly more involved, flavour-nuanced recipe.

Avocado Chocolate Pudding

Ingredients

  • 2-3 avocados
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 2-3 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 2 tbsp honey or maple syrup
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 4 tbsp coconut milk
  • dash of cinnamon
  • healthy dash of cayenne

Method

Place  avocado flesh in a bowl and add all the other ingredients.

Using an immersion blender (or as above), mix thoroughly, until smooth in texture.  Chill and serve.

So, the first recipe above tastes like avocado with chocolate.  A good taste if you like avocado.

The second recipe has more cocoa in it and is much richer in flavour and texture.  I like the kick of the cayenne.

