Today is filled with new possibilities and my thoughts create my day.  I began this morning with an attitude of intention and set my course for a positive, creative, joy-filled day.  Every path I cross will benefit from the smile which arises naturally from this attitude and the sense of play and passion I bring to all my actions.

It is the giving, not the getting, which will bring me happiness.  Accumulating, possessing, and holding on to ‘stuff’ creates emotional, spiritual, environmental and financial burdens in my life.  I set out this morning with an intention to live with less.  I will not purchase goods today, I will not covet tech gadgets, books, or other items.  I will very much appreciate all I have and will care for my belongings with respect, cherishing especially that which is well worn with love and use.  I will devote time to decluttering my home, and put thought into where and how I shall pass on what I do not need.

I will move mindfully through my day.  I want to appreciate the sights and sounds, smells, textures and movements of my life.  I will feel the nuances of my emotions; I will be present for those with whom I come in contact.  I will allow sensations to wash over me in slow waves.

I will think about one past hurt which I still harbour and I will let it go.  I will forgive and move on, giving up the burden which is not mine to carry; freeing myself of what holds me back from enjoying this moment.

I will remain excited and curious about my future and about upcoming endeavours and events, but I will live today’s joys and sorrows fully.  I will leave behind past accomplishments so that I can focus on working hard today.

I will love all I do today and will learn something new from every person or group of people with whom I interact.  I never think “TGIF” because I truly enjoy what I do each and every day and strive to have a seamless integration of all the spheres of my life.  My work is not a job, it is a passioned and reasoned choice I have made for myself.  My work is what I make of it.  I choose to make it fun, rewarding and satisfying today.

The Secret of health for both mind and body is not to mourn for the past, not to worry about the future, nor to anticipate troubles, but to live the present moment wisely and earnestly. – Buddha

