libyan lamb stew

Winter weather is letting go, not that we had much winter to speak of here on this wee island in the cold Atlantic waters.  As winter wanes, so too does my soup craving.  My partner picked this recipe and I stirred the pot.

Libyan Lamb Stew

Ingredients

  • 50ml olive oil
  • 2 – 7+ml ground red pepper (I used an Indian pepper powder living in my pantry)
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 175ml tomato paste
  • .5 – 1L cubed lamb (or beef)
  • 2.5L water
  • 15ml turmeric
  • 10ml salt
  • 625ml prepared chickpeas
  • 2 bunches parsley, chopped
  • 90ml soup pasta (I used orzo)

Add oil, tomato paste, ground pepper and onion to large saucepan and cook over medium high heat for 2 minutes.  Add meat, water, turmeric and salt.  Bring to a rapid boil, reduce heat and cook slowly 1.5 – 2 hours, until meat is tender.

Add chickpeas, parsley and more water if the stew is too thick.  Shortly before serving add the pasta; cook until the pasta is tender.

This is a flavourful stew; a great way to end the season!

