Wednesday night passed was the closing celebration, at week 10,  of Community School at Charlottetown Rural High School.  I had the privilege of teaching yoga to a friendly and enthusiastic group of mostly new-to-yoga students.

If you missed my earlier post on this, I’ll bring you up to date.  Community School is this fabulous concept offered across the province: instructors volunteer their services and students, for a truly minimal price, get to experience or participate in an educational experience, usually hobby-based or basic skills.

The yoga class I instructed was challenging.  More than 30 students, at least half of whom were entirely new to yoga, in a school cafeteria.  Yes.  Unyielding floor below too thin mats, overhead fluorescent bulbs, a loud heating system which revved into our poses on a regular basis, and cafeteria tables, tilted on end, providing an all-too-inadequate barrier to the busy-ness of half time coffee and snack prep at the back of the room.

Oh, but it was fun.  And fulfilling.

The closing celebrations were attended by…

The Spanish Class singing Amazing Grace in Spanish, displays by the rug hookers, painters,  and scrapbookers, the guitar students (taught by two high school students) playing Dark Side of The Moon (loved that), swedish embroidery, computer literacy, personal financial management, line dancing, and more.  I’d say 150+ folks turned out for this grand finale…a lovely cold cut and salad meal, camaraderie, presentations, applause and laughter.  This was a fabulous Community School!

I was the recipient of much joy and gratitude.  Imagine!  Community School presented me  with a certificate, a gift card to a local grocery store, and an appreciated cheque to cover my weekly travel expenses (it was a 40 minute drive in each direction for me).  My class participants took up a collection and I humbly accepted a gift certificate at a local soap manufacturing business (how did they know?) and a gift card to the book store (they admitted to creeping my facebook site to get ideas).

Best yet, one of the participants, Margot of Line Dancing Fame, wrote a poem and it was put in a card with loads of lovely signatures.  I want to share that poem with you:

Yoga is divine

It helped align our spine

We stretched those abs

And toned those flabs

A BIG THANK YOU to Wendy!

Yoga is so fun

Salutation to the sun

The mountain pose

And yoga clothes

A BIG THANK YOU to Wendy!

Yoga is so bendy

We strive to be like Wendy

We moaned and giggled

While our bodies jiggled

A BIG THANK YOU to Wendy!

Yoga is the best

Especially when we rest 🙂

From your CS (community school) crew

Na-ma-ste to you

A BIG THANK YOU to Wendy!

A BIG THANK YOU to everyone who made this such a wonderful Wednesday night experience.  I had the time of my life.

Namaste.

