Possessions are usually diminished by possession.  ~Nietzsche

So, after a few weeks of updating not much of anything with respect to meeting my Perfect 10 goals, here is the final installment.

Week 10 of The Perfect 10 – Goals Review & Update

  • NO potato chips – finishing off with 9/10 chipfree weeks
  • REVISED:  one one-hour high intensity cardio session/week  and one interval session – this was done in week 10
  • a minimum of four days/week of  45 minute mindfulness practice – three out of four sessions accomplished
  • five crazy body weight challenges to be performed one per week in two cycles – this was a goal???
  • one ‘legs day’ per week – if I were on twitter:  #Fail
  • additionally, as part of a 30 DAY 10,000 SWINGS CHALLENGE, I completed  10,000 kettlebell swings in 16 days, finishing it off this week.

Here is the final chapter of my Perfect 10 what-you-might-not-know-about-me reveal.  In truth, I did disclose part of this in a couple of my classes in the past week or so, so you might already know this about me.

I have never purchased a lottery ticket in my life, mostly because of personal politics (which I won’t go into here).  I was once given a lotto 649 ticket, or some such beast, for my birthday by a very caring almost stranger now a friend.  The ticket served nobly as a bookmark for quite some time, because I do like to read, and I never did check that ticket.  This drove a co-worker to distraction for a period of time

Truthfully, there isn’t anything of which I am in need so I don’t go looking to ‘win’ things.  That is just more stuff, really, that has nothing to do with my happy, healthy life. On the other hand, I like to do my part to support local fundraising efforts, so I am always purchasing raffle tickets.  The cooler of lobster, the beautiful quilt, the gift basket, the picnic table…things I don’t need in exchange for supporting the school band trip, the local service clubs, the women’s institutes, the medical needs of local residents.  I love to purchase these raffles tickets.  I love to give the Girl Guides a donation and leave them with their cookies, I love to drop my coins in the Children’s Hospital box on the post office counter and not take a chocolate bar.

So, years ago I arrived at a very happy solution.  I stop at every rickety card table displaying some precious item which I  have opportunity to win for $2. For $5. I get three shots at the goods.   I put someone else’s name and phone number on the ticket.  Early on, friends’ and acquaintances’ names went on those stubs.  This gradually evolved to include the names and numbers of people I don’t like…you know, those personal gurus whose presence in our lives must be – better be – personally instructive.  I don’t mean this in any insidious way; if I don’t like you, rest assured that you don’t like me either and we are both fully cognizant of this state of relationship. I always, always hope my tickets win!

I keep thinking there is some irony in participating in The Perfect 10 – a lovely prize of which I am not in need, though the wanting part of me can easily justify both my need and my want.

Thank you Steve, for bringing together a community of bloggers with this initiative!

The saddest thing I can imagine is to get used to luxury. ~Charlie Chaplin

