Okay, the weeks are beginning to merge together into one large fitness class which never ends.  Can you imagine a world like that?  Heaving, sweating, pulsing, sobbing, panting.  Faces red, eyes bulging, wet tee’s clinging, water swilling.  Muscles flexing, hearts pounding, veins popping, brows pulled down.  Makes Dante’s Inferno look like air conditioned luxury.

To be honest, the weeks of the perfect 10 challenge are beginning to grind a bit for me.  I recall beginning to bore at about week 6 of an 8 week training program for a 10k run last fall.  My attention span isn’t very long, and my body and mind desire change to stay vital and engaged.  My crazy schedule surely has a contributing role to how I am feeling.  I will persevere however.  Just two weeks to go after all and a great prize to be had!

Week 8 of The Perfect 10 – Goals Review & Update

  • NO potato chips – check
  • REVISED:  one one-hour high intensity cardio session/week  and one interval session – check, hahaha
  • a minimum of four days/week of  45 minute mindfulness practice – 1/2 check
  • five crazy body weight challenges to be performed one per week in two cycles – this has gone sliding in the abyss which was once my workout time; I truly am sad about this.
  • one ‘legs day’ per week – I did a squat tabata, holding the rest in the hole, with class yesterday, so as a stretch I’ll count this.
  • additionally, as part of a 30 DAY 10,000 SWINGS CHALLENGE, I have completed 4115 kettlebell swings over the last five days.  My ass is loudly talking to me!

I have a short but sweet disclosure this week.  Well, it is short but is probably more strangely neurotic than sweet.  I have a strong and odd compulsion to press on people’s bruises.  If I know you well, I will likely give in to the compulsion.  If I don’t know you well, or at all, it takes a lot of self discipline not to walk on over, raise my index finger, place it in the middle of your blooming bruise and firmly press.

The other part of this compulsion is the feeling of weakness which overtakes the backs of my knees when I press on a bruise, like my knees are about to collapse under me.  Sometimes the presentation of a bruise and the anticipation of pressing it can create the back-of-knees sensation.  In fact, relaying this to you now has the backs of my knees feeling funny…not sure I can stand up right now.

