double leftovers, double pleasure

I mentioned in a recent post that I have a couple of tensions in my foodways which require thought, planning and preparation in order for me to eat in a joyful, thoughtful manner.

I frequently put in long days at the studio, which is about a 40 minutes drive from my home, so there is no ‘popping’ back to the house to rectify oversights or forgotten lunch bags.

Today, for instance, I arrived at the studio at 7:15am in order to prep for a 7:30am training client – that means get the heat turned on and dispose of  my now transformed green tea.  I will be here until approximately 8:45 tonight after teaching four classes and seeing an 8:00pm training client.

Bringing along sufficient food is one of my adventures and I don’t always get it right.

In the studio I have a one burner hot plate and a toaster oven – no microwaves in my life.  I bring my day’s nourishments in a cooler bag as I don’t have a refrigerator in the studio, at least not yet.

Today, in addition to fruit, yoghurt and various other snacky items,  I managed to have a lovely meal of double leftovers.  They were leftovers which came along with me on Tuesday but did not get eaten, so they came along again today.

I enjoyed the carrot, asparagus, peas, edamames and blau kraut refried with polenta.  My partner very cleverly flavoured the polenta with garam masala, so it is quite a tasty treat.

This is my only meal of the day – other than breakfast – consumed with pleasure around 3:10pm in order to have energy and gastrointestinal peace when classes begin at 5:00pm.

I’m feeling pretty darned satisfied right about now.

