Let me tell you about the perfect 10 and the goals I set when I don’t set goals.

Steve,  over at logmyloss has been on an amazing weight loss journey and he is quickly approaching his destination.  Well, he is approaching a destination which allows him to see further, beyond where he first thought he would head.  He has a lot of folks who regularly read his blog.  They daily inspire him to aspire to more and he, in turn, reciprocates with a special, personalized and sometimes pivotal role in their journeys.  He records motivational videoblogs twice weekly and engages his blog family in challenges which help them stay on track.

I have been reading Steve’s blog for a number of months now and he has been visiting here regularly.  Though I comment on his blog and surf the blogs of his commenters, mostly I have been an observer.  However, Steve is running a new challengethe perfect 10 – and I have decided to join.  You might want to check it out for yourself and hand it along to friends.  Steve, by the way, has lined up a truly fabulous prize to be awarded at the end of the challenge.  I have been a fan of Scott Sonnon’s circular strength training system for a while so I was pretty jigged when Steve announced this great give-away.

This challenge requires the setting and posting of goals and accountability for goal-directed (or misdirected) behaviour over a 10 week period.  Setting goals.  Hmmm.

Goal setting is something I do only in a fluid, casual manner.  My goals, when I think of them within the frame of that word, are living, breathing entities.  Rarely cast in stone, generally not written or recorded, ever changing, growing, expanding.  Sometimes the goals find me rather than me finding them. In fact, I think this is more often the case than not.  This kind of ‘goal setting’ has served me very well in life.  I have never ever cast a ‘new year’s resolution’ or waited for ‘the right/appropriate/socially ideal’ time to create change.  Is it worth doing? Yes?   Then I’ll do it now.  Every moment presents a new, and the best, opportunity for creating change.

I don’t record or celebrate ‘anniversaries’ – I have to track back to time and place to pinpoint when I might have instituted something.  So, for example, I can figure out what year I quit smoking and roughly the time of year by thinking about where I lived, but I could not tell you the day and date.  Nor do I mark the passing of this ‘milestone’ each year.  Being a smoker is something I was, not something I am.  I am not an ex-smoker either.  I am a nonsmoker.  Plain and simple, it is what I am, not what I am in relation to what I was. I realize this is not the mainstream approach to important dates, but it feels good to me.

my professional development goals - a green highlighter is my high tech tracking tool

same green high tech tool

I do, each year, set up a list of professional development goals, penciled haphazardly onto a paper and stuck on the wall above my (at home) workspace.  This list may change throughout the year, with add-ons and scribble-offs.  Shorter term goals/to do’s get listed in my dayplanner.  I’ve included a couple of pictures of this elaborate system but have had to blur them as client names were visible (sorry if the distortion makes you queasy as it does me).

So, all that being said, I am about to venture outside my own comfy cozy hazy fuzzy indistinct directionally suggestive style and lay out a few goals so that I too may work toward the perfect 10.

  • NO potato chips – a salty passion from my past (Atlantic waters flow through my veins) and a current capitulation, this unfood is advertised as Simply Made. Simply Good.  Umm, I have to remember that this slogan is Simply Crap
  • at least three one-hour high intensity cardio sessions/week – this can include high intensity classes which I teach or take.
  • a minimum of four days/week of  45 minute mindfulness practice – excluding yoga, this can be QiGong, breathwalking, or mindfulness meditation
  • five crazy body weight challenges to be performed one per week in two cycles – some intense circuits, which might include exercises other than body weight, completed for time so I can compare the first 5 week circuit completion with the second 5 week circuit completion
  • one ‘legs day’ per week – I rarely specifically train my legs because I have a recurrent piriformis syndrome which requires vigilance and because I need ‘fresh legs’ for some of the classes I teach.  It will require attention and focus to fit this in each week.

Success is not the key to happiness.  Happiness is the key to success.  ~ Albert Schweitzer

