Edamame are immature green soybeans, picked before they ripen.  Where I live I can get them only in frozen form and they are frequently not in stock.  I love their taste and their texture is very appealing to me, so we stock up when we can.

edamame dip - snack in the studio

edamame dip - snack in the studio

Since I seem to be in need of great snack food of late, I thought I’d try an edamame dip.

  • 500g shelled edamame, steamed (or microwaved if you are using one of these machines)
  • 1/2c peanuts
  • 1/2c chopped green onion
  • 2 tsp sesame oil
  • 2 tsp grated fresh ginger root
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp minced fresh garlic
  • 1/2 tsp hot pepper sauce (oh, be more generous)
  • 1/3c oil
  • 1/2c water

Heat edamame until steaming.  Allow to cool slightly.  Place edamame, peanuts, onions, sesame oil, ginger, slat and hot pepper sauce in a food processor.  Pulse to a paste-like consistency.  With motor running, drizzle in oil and water and puree until very smooth.  Refrigerate.

Serve with fresh veggies and/or flat bread.  I’m really enjoying it with local organic carrots delivered to my door last week.  The sesame oil imparts a really lovely flavour to this dip – no kitchen should be without sesame oil.

When something is this yummy, do you care that edamame is a complete protein and a source of isoflavones which seem to reduce the down-side symptoms of menopause and improve bone health?  Of course you do!

And, as a follow up to that truly great pumpkin hummus recipe, I should tell you how good it is with raincoast crisps fig & olive crackers which are made with buttermilk, unbleached flour, figs, pumpkin seeds, flax seeds, kalamata olives, sesame seeds, brown sugar, honey, baking soda and sea salt.  So much goodness I can hardly sit still when I eat them!

pumpkin hummus with fig & olive crackers

pumpkin hummus with fig & olive crackers

