I would rather sit on a pumpkin, and have it all to myself, then be crowded on a velvet cushion.  – Henry David Thoreau

shrimp & pumpkin curry on the table

shrimp & pumpkin curry on the table

The pumpkin hummus was really just an afterthought to the Shrimp & Pumpkin Curry I wanted to make for supper Wednesday.  With some shrimp in the freezer, all I needed was to stop on my way home at the local farm stand to pick up a couple of small pumpkins.   (Okay, I picked up a half dozen fresh baked blueberry scones too — I am delightfully weak in the flesh).

Shrimp & Pumpkin Curry

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp mustard seeds (I doubled this and used black mustard seeds)
  • pinch of cumin seeds
  • 10 curry leaves
  • an inch or so of fresh ginger root, cut into strips]
  • 2 green chilies (I substituted some kicky dried peppers from the garden of Louis Wilson, formerly known as a UPEI professor)
  • 2 onions, sliced
  • 150g peeled pumpkin flesh, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric
  • 1 2/3c coconut milk (light is good)
  • 500g raw shrimp, peeled
  • 1 tsp white vinegar
before adding shrimp

before adding shrimp

Add mustard and cumin seeds to hot oil in large fry pan.  When the seeds start to pop, add curry leaves, ginger, chilies and onions.  Cook over low heat for 10 minutes, until the onions are golden.

happy happy leftovers

happy happy leftovers

Add the pumpkin and turmeric and a bit of salt.  Mix well and heat for a minute.  Pour in the coconut milk and 3/4c water.  Bring to a boil, stirring constantly.

Add the shrimp, cook for 5 more minutes.  Add vinegar and mix well.

Serve hot.

I put this yumfest over brown basmati rice.  It was jazzy on my jargon muscle.

