bubbly golden chickpea casserole

bubbly golden chickpea casserole

With the start up of fall schedules for everyone in my home, meal preparation and coordination has become a challenge.  Because I am eating out of the house almost as much as at home these weeks, Sunday has become a prepare-casserole-or-other-take-along meal day.  This has ended up being a shared responsibility: I get to pick the recipe and my partner does the grocery shopping and usually the preparation.

He has made a gorgeous Thai Chicken Coconut Casserole (there are still a couple of servings in the freezer, lucky me) and a deliciously interesting mushroom casserole.

Two weeks ago I gravitated toward a chickpea casserole.  Perhaps there is no surprise there.  Since getting into the groove of properly and perfectly preparing these little gems, chickpeas have become a household staple.  The recipe called for cream corn, of which I am not fond, but the simple recipe, with garlic, cumin and curry appealed to me.

  • 100g diced onion
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 65g brown rice, cooked
  • 14oz can creamed corn
  • 540g chick peas, soaked and cooked
  • lots of garlic, I roasted mine

Soften onions in olive oil.  Combine all ingredients in a casserole dish; season to taste with cumin, curry powder, roasted garlic, salt, and pepper.

Bake at 400 for 20 minutes, until bubbly.

This is a very tasty recipe, goes great with a green side salad, and is particularly good reheated.  Easy too, which is important to me.  And best yet, I can bring along variety to prvent me from being tempted, on rushed days, by the world of ‘convenience’ foods.

Life is good.

