With my concerns about my left tibialis anterior, I did not want to run in my current sneakers again and chance any kind of set back to my running schedule.

Hashem's Variety Store

Hashem's Variety Store

Thankfully, Hashem’s Variety Store is open on Labour Day and there is no better place in PE to get runners.

The store and its owner are truly legendary and the only place where you can be properly fitted for runners on the island.

Salam Hashem

Salam Hashem

Owned and operated by life-long runner Salam Nemtallah Hashem, this store boasts stacks and stacks of asics and racks of discount running clothing.  There is even a sizable bargain bin section.  The athletic gear is jam-packed amidst bins of fresh produce, racks of potato chips, counters full of sticky sweet  Montreal baklava and fat pitted dates, display cases filled with candy, dairy cases of yoghurt and an incredible array of sundries.  Standing in the shop is like being lost in a 3D I Spy book!   It is a wonderful experience.

stacks o' asics

stacks o' asics

Mr. Hashem first fitted me for a pair of asics many years ago.  Now I can just walk in, ask for the most recent GT model in size 7 1/2, in this case GT-2140, pay and be on my way.  I don’t even need to try them on anymore and I have never had a regret.

bargain bins

bargain bins

I have always simply accepted the first box Mr. Hashem hands me, without regard for colour as this has never been relevant to me.  Coincidentally though, to date, I have never had the same colour twice.  My new happy feet are orange.  But they have, by year, been red, yellow, green, light blue, black, purple, and dark blue.

Hashem’s Variety.  The prices are lower than anywhere else in PE and he always tosses in a complimentary pair of running socks.  He does not like to accept returns so you need to know what you are looking for, though he will agree to a return if you discuss it with him during the purchase.

Hashem’s Variety.  100% recommended.

my new orange asics

my new orange asics

