spinach hummus w/ red onion, preserved lemon & corona

spinach hummus w/ red onion, preserved lemon & corona

The past couple of weekends I have been happily occupied outside the boundaries of my kitchen and have not made hummus.  I have been missing my chickpeas.  Today it was time for a new batch – something with a twist.

Spinach hummus jazzed with preserved lemon – what a hot weekend inspiration!  This recipe is easy to make, a feast for the eyes, and a great take-along in the upcoming week’s lunches.

Spinach Hummus with Red Onion & Preserved Lemon

  • 1/2c dried chickpeas; soaked overnight, simmered for several hours until softened (skim off surface starch as they simmer)
  • two small new potatoes, cooked until soft
  • 1/2c finely diced red onion
  • zest of one lemon (the entire concept of ‘zest’ just turns me on)
  • the juice of ½ lemon
  • salt & pepper
  • olive oil – only the best
  • 5 – 6 handfuls of fresh spinach, washed
wilted spinach - I love wilted greens

wilted spinach - I love wilted greens

With a splash of olive oil, wilt spinach in a hot fry pan.  Season with salt and pepper to taste.

In a food processor (usually I use my immersion blender for hummus as I prefer the coarser texture, but for this recipe I used the food processor) combine the chickpeas, potato, wilted spinach, red onion, lemon zest, lemon juice, and a modicum of salt.  Process and add a drizzle of olive oil while the machine is running.  If the mixture is too dry, add a few tablespoons of warm water.

new potatoes

new potatoes

chickpeas, red onions, lemon zest

chickpeas, red onions, lemon zest

Arrange in container topped with finely chopped red pepper and preserved lemon.  Drizzle with olive oil. Enjoy with your favourite dipping edible!

