morning run along Victoria Park boardwalk

morning run along Victoria Park boardwalk

About a month ago I blogged about my staccato past time as not a runner.  In that post I made a commitment to run the 10k portion of the PEI Marathon.

The marathon will be held on October 18th, so next week marks the beginning of my 8 week 10k training program.

Since making the original post, I have been running sporadically, fair weather girl that I am.  The runs have been between 5k and 8k in distance and at my speed.  That reads S-L-O-W.

I have always run from outside my back door in rural PE.  This morning was my first run in Charlottetown, where the 10k will be held.

The bucolic scene captured above is along the North River, not far from where the river merges with Charlottetown Harbour.  If there was a zen moment today, it was inspired by the serene transitions of earth, air and water.

I ran for about 30 minutes and from that estimate I covered about 4.25k  give (or take) a couple hundred metres.

I am certain running the 10k will be a challenge for me.  Perhaps even more challenging will be fitting 5 runs, including interval workouts and tempo runs, into my weekly schedule.

I will be making a post each Sunday, beginning August 23rd, on my week’s work.  Between now and Day 1 of Week 1 (Monday August 17th) I’ll be getting a bit of regeneration (maybe even some degeneration) while camping at Campbell’s Cove.

If you have any training tips I’d be pleased to hear them!

October 18, 2009 10k route

October 18, 2009 10k route

