the medal for my first triathlon 2002

the medal for my first triathlon 2002

I like to challenge myself.  Continually.  Cognitively, spiritually, emotionally, physically, gastronomically, metaphorically, parentally.  In relationship, in the kitchen, at the table, academically,  stupidly, professionally, developmentally, technologically.  In balance poses.  Oh, yes.

I set goals and I compete.  Sometimes the competition is tunnel visioned.  Sometimes it is light-hearted.  It is always with myself.

When I first caught the active living bug it quickly mutated.  I was dealing with a pessimistic-resistant superbug.  I became fitness infected.   The delirium began with a desire to quit smoking.  Then the symptoms of eating healthy, adding regular activity into my life, living ethically, being socially aware and mindful, and being a better role model to my children emerged.  All right, all right.  I realize that as a born and bred Cape Bretoner with a big dose of addictive personality, I have a ‘go big or go home’ approach to life.  Nonetheless, for me, all these issues were intertwined…I couldn’t have one without t’other.

If you have looked at the ‘about’ page on this blog, you already know that fitness/sports/athleticism is not in my background.  Oh, no, no.  Nor does it come ‘naturally’ to me.  I do not play ball in the summer, I have no idea of the rules of rugby, I cannot paddle a kayak (yet), and I have no desire to befriend a 9 iron.  I cannot coordinate a front crawl in the water,  nor can I name a single hockey player in the national league.  I am not a  soccer or ringette mom,  I possess a strong fear of being harmed in contact sports,  I could never cuss out a relay team partner for her/his (under)performance, and I have an innate aversion to ‘group/team norms’.

I think you get the picture.

So, if you think you need to be an athlete to complete a triathlon, or a runner to complete a 10k, think again!  I am not an athlete.  I am not a runner.  But, I run and, if I may verbalize the noun, I athlete.

Marking Time, Living Mindlessly 2001

marking time, living mindlessly 2001

I first began running in 2002, in an effort to increase my fitness level and to train for a give-it-a-try-triathlon, which was the specific, tangible goal I set so that going to a gym regularly made some sense.  Aside from that first small but incredibly mind-altering tri, I have completed a 5k run for the cure, a 10k Freeze Your Gizzard (in 2004, a year before they started keeping official times), and a sprint triathlon.  I trained, in 2006, for the Blue Nose half marathon but was benched by a serious case of bronchitis.

I have begun running again, after a 14 or 16 month hiatus.  I am not a runner, but I do occasionally enjoy running, or what I call running.  It is short, it is slow, and it is outdoors only in fair weather.  At sunrise, on a good day, it is glorious and transforming.

the first of many finish lines

the first of many finish lines

I have begun running again, and it seems to be time for another challenge.  The 10k event of this year’s PE Marathon is where my sights are set.  I’m looking for a training partner or two.

Post a comment or send me an email and we can run slow together all summer.  Really, I am waiting to hear from you.

”  The miracle isn’t that I finished.  The miracle is that I had the courage to start.”  — John Bingham